The Wonderxchange End of Year awards which was held at the hall of Bliss World Hotel Ijapo, Akure last Friday was a very successful one as event turned out to be colorful and all worked as planned.

The event which was live-streamed on the team’s YouTube page kicked off with a red carpet at 4:30pm where players, officials and a few invited guests were interviewed by the host.

The main event kicked off a few minutes past 5:00pm with the two hosts recognizing the presence of the club CEO’s mother, Mrs Komolafe-Esan and inviting her to give the opening speech and also presented the first award for the day for the best goalkeeper of the year which was won by Emmanuel Yakubu with academy goalkeeper Timileyin Adetifa in second place and Tope Otaki in 3rd place.

Next was the defender of the year award which was presented by Mr. Babatunde Opeyemi (Clef) and won by skipper Lekan Ajeyomi with Omolade Ibitayo and Sunday Emmanuel coming second and third respectively.

The midfielder of the year award presented by Mr. Taiwo Abiodun went to Afolabi Adeyina who in his speech gave all the accolades and his appreciation to his teammates and said it wouldn’t have been possible without them. The first runner up for midfielder of the year is Melody Terdoo while the second runner up is Olayemi Bello.

The forward of the year award came next and was presented by Mr. Favour Agboola to the winner, Chinedu Okorie much to a loud ovation and cheers from teammates. Oluwatobi Dahunsi came second while Amaechi Sunday secured the third spot.

The coach of the year award which was presented by the Convener of the Tubaba Scouting Network, Mr. Oluwatope Ayokunle went to academy coach, Anthony Ogunmesin with Coach Micheal Olayiwola coming a close second and coach Gbenga Ologun in third place.

The young player of the year award was presented by renowned Osun state journalist, Mr. Olusola Alabi and was won by Arifayan Olamilekan who has had a very successful year in terms of performances.

The main and the biggest award of the day which was saved for the last was the Men’s player of the year award and was presented by former team captain and ex-team manager Mr. Olusola Harrison who announced forward Oluwatobi Dahunsi as the winner, greeted with loud cheers and a standing ovation from everyone present.

Skipper Lekan Ajeyomi was ranked in second place while forward Chinedu Okorie was ranked in third place.

This celebration concluded a very successful and eventful long year for the Lions as the team closes out the calendar year and expects to resume next year in high spirits.

Renowned Osun State Journalist Mr. Olusola Alabi expressing gratitude to the club before presenting the Young player of the year award.


Olayemi Bello having a swell time with the Host (Opeyemi)


Former Team Secretary Mr. Oluwatobi Bamidele poses for a picture with current players Onome Adepoju, Joseph Ekeocha & Emmanuel Gbemisola.


Emmanuel yakubu emerged the winner of the best Goalkeeper award, presented by Mrs. Komolafe-Esan.


From Left-Right: Mr. Oluwapelui, Mr. Anthony Ogunmesin (Wonderxchange Academy Coach), Mr. Oluwatope Ayokunle (CEO. Tubaba Scouting Network), Ms. Opeyemi


Amaechi all smiles on the red carpet.


Olamilekan won the Young player of the year award, presented by Osun State journalist Mr. Olusola Alabi.


Prolific Olamilekan Arifayan receives his award after having a good year for the Under 17s.


Lekan Ajeyomi was name Defender of the year and award presented by Mr. Babatunde Opeyemi (Clef)


Mrs. Komolafe-Esan


Fierce attacker Chinedu Okorie all smiles during the award ceremony.


Wonderxchange B Captain Yusuf Haruna pictured on the red carpet.


Anchor of the day Ms. Opeyemi smiles for the camera.


Chinedu Okorie receives his award from Mr. Favour Agboola.


Mr. Oluwatobi Bamidele presented the Club’s new crest at the ceremony.


Mr. Taiwo Abiodun holding in his hands the Midfielder of the year award and ready to announce the winner.


Rock-solid Afolabi Adeyina receives his award.