Oluwatobi scored 13 goals and had 16 assists in the year 2022 for Wonderxchange; Lekan Ajeyomi in finished second place while Chinedu Okorie was third; Olamilekan Arifayan was given the Young Player award as the best young player of the year.


Wonderxchange Forward Oluwatobi Dahunsi has won the Men’s player of the year award for 2022.

The prolific creator managed 29 goal contributions in 34 matches his year as the Lions finished 3rd and 4th in the Bet9ja Football League and NLO respectively.

Oluwatobi was crowned in a ceremony in Akure ahead of Lekan Ajeyomi in second and Chinedu in third.

“I dedicate this Award to my mother, my coaches and to all my teammates as this wouldn’t have been possible without you all” said Oluwatobi after receiving his award.

Olusola Harrison (middle left) presents the Men’s Player of the year award to Oluwatobi Dahunsi (middle-right).
The other awards

Wonderxchange under 17 forward Olamilekan Arifayan was named the winner of the Young player award, awarded to the best academy player, with his mates the due of Ayomide Ojuifun and Faith Alade finishing in third and fourth respectively.

“I give all the glory to God for this wonderful opportunity to be here and to win this award, special thanks to my coach who also won the coach of the year award and also to all my teammates,” said Olamilekan.

Olamilekan won the Young player of the year award, presented by Osun State journalist Mr. Olusola Alabi.


Wonderxchange firsts goalkeeper Emmanuel Yakubu was given the Goalkeeper of the year award for the best goalkeeper prize, after his impressive performance in the match against Sunshine Stars in September, helped the Lions to a win over Sunshine Stars which was also the only loss the Owena babe suffered during their preseason in which they played over 40 matches.

Wonderxchange under 13 goalkeeper Timileyin Adetifa was ranked as the second-best goalkeeper, with Wonderxchange B goalkeeper Temitope Otaki in third.


Emmanuel Yakubu emerged the winner of the best Goalkeeper award, presented by Mrs. Komolafe-Esan.


Lekan Ajeyomi was named the Defender of the year at the Akure ceremony after his tremendous year in the heart of the Lions defense, beating runners-up Omolade Ibitayo and Sunday Emmanuel to the prize.

“I dedicate this award to my late dad who recently passed away, and also to my lovely mum for all her supports and encouragements, also to my woman who’s present here and finally to my teammates, thank you all and God bless you” said the defender as he picked up his award.

Babatunde Opeyemi (middle left) presents the defender of the year award to Lekan Ajeyomi (middle-right).


Afolabi Adeyina was the winner of the Midfielder of the year award, a prize given to the overall best midfielder in the team, after a superb season for the Lions in which he helped the team win 68 percent of the matches he played in.

“I am very happy for this award, thanks to my teammates, this is a collective effort, all thanks to you guys” said Afolabi after receiving his award.

Afolabi Adeyina won the midfielder of the year trophy, presented by Mr. Taiwo Abiodun.


The Forward of the Year award, given to the best striker went to prolific goalscorer Chinedu Okorie who pipped the likes of Oluwatobi Dahunsi and Sunday Amaechi to the prize. Chinedu scored 19 goals and got 6 assists in the 33 matches he played in 2022 and also won the June player of the month award.

Speaking after receiving the award Chinedu said: “I don’t have much to say but I dedicate this award to my wonderful coach and to my lovely mother” and he also cited Cristiano Ronaldo as his role model and a player he looks up to and learn from everyday.


Wonderxchange Academy coach Anthony Ogunmesin, was given the Coach of the year award, after an extraordinary season in which he managed the under 13-17 teams and lead the boys to victory in the maiden edition of the Dream Big Ekiti Champions League.

Anthony Ogunmesin said “I am so happy to have won this award, I never expected to win due to my great senior coaches I was nominated with, I say thank you to the management and to all the coaches present as well and to everyone who voted, thank you all”.

Mr. Anthony Ogunmesin (middle-left) receives his award from the CEO of Tubaba Scouting Network Mr. Oluwatope Ayokunle (middle-right).
The full Men’s Player of the year award rankings

1st – Oluwatobi Dahunsi (Wonderxchange FC/Forward)

2nd – Lekan Ajeyomi (Wonderxchange FC/Defender)

3rd – Chinedu Okorie (Wonderxchange FC/Forward)

4th – Afolabi Adeyina (Wonderxchange FC/Midfielder)

5th – Amaechi Sunday (Wonderxchange FC/Forward)

6th – Omolade Ibitayo (Wonderxchange FC/Defender)

7th – Terdoo Melody (Wonderxchange FC/Midfielder)

8th – Emmanuel Yakubu (Wonderxchange FC/Goalkeeper)

9th – Sunday Emmanuel (Wonderxchange FC/Defender)

10th – Oluwaseun Ojo (Wonderxchange FC/Defender)

11th – Musa Hassan (Wonderxchange FC/Forward)

12th – Olayemi Bello (Wonderxchange B/Midfielder)

13th – Opeyemi Ogundumila (Wonderxchange B/Forward)

14th – Haruna Yusuf (Wonderxchange B/Midfielder)

15th – Onome Adepoju (Wonderxchange FC/Defender)

16th – Abednego Lewey (Wonderxchange B/Midfielder)

17th – Bonny Akingbade (Wonderxchange B/Defender)

18th – Adedayo Adeyemi (Wonderxchange FC/Midfielder)

19th – Fisayo Ilesanmi (Wonderxchange B/Defender)

20th – Michael Akpovie (Wonderxchange FC/Defender) disqualified.