Squad Announcement for Amapro Championship


Coach Michael Olayiwola has officially announced the 20-man squad that will represent the team at the upcoming Amapro Football Championship in Ilorin.

The championship, set to take place in Ilorin, Kwara State will showcase the talents of the selected players.

The squad comprises of: –

Two goalkeepers: Tope Otaki and Olalekan Yinusa

Seven defenders: Lekan Ajeyomi, Seun Ojo, Samson Adegbite, Omolade Ibitayo, Mathias Gowon, Opeyemi Babatunde, Richard Ayeni

Eight midfielders: Sikiru Sule, Melody Apeichie, Oluwatobiloba Michael, Dotun Olafisoye, Godspower Ikechukwu, Samson Ajayi, Oluwatobi Dahunsi, Abednego Lewey

Three attackers: Sunkanmi Adeyeye, Mighty Aderibigbe, Amaechi Sunday, Musa Hassan

The Lions are scheduled to depart from the team camp in Akure on Sunday, 30th June, with the team’s opening match set to kick off the next day.

Coach Olayiwola expressed his confidence in the squad’s abilities, emphasizing the blend of experience and youth within the team. He stated, “We have a good mix of experience and youth, and I am confident that we can compete with the best teams in the tournament. The players have been diligent in training, and they are eager to begin. While we recognize the challenge ahead, we are resolute in our determination to excel.”