Anthony Ogunmesin, Michael Olayiwola and Gbenga Ologun are the set of nominees revealed for the 2022 Wonderxchange Coach of the Year award.

The winner will be named – along with the Wonderxchange Goalkeeper of the Year, Wonderxchange Defender of the Year, Wonderxchange Midfielder of the Year, Wonderxchange Forward of the Year, Wonderxchange Young Player of the Year and Wonderxchange Men’s Player of the Year – during the 2022 End of the Year award ceremony in Akure on Friday 16 December.

Wonderxchange Coach of the Year nominees
Anthony Ogunmesin
Wonderxchange U13-17


Anthony Ogunmesin (Wonderxchange U13 – U17)

The Wonderxchange academy coach who manages the affairs of the academy’s U13 to U17 division has masterminded a series of wins and successes for the academy boys.

He led the U16 boys to victory and won the maiden edition of the Dream Big Ekiti Champions League earlier this year.

He also led his U17 side to the super 6 stage of the ongoing youth grassroot championship league in EKITI. In addition, he had several wins in friendly matches played at home and away.

Michael Olayiwola
Wonderxchange FC


Micheal Olayiwola (Wonderxchange)

The men’s team has managed 21 victories in 37 competitive games played this year. He also coached his side through a 13-game unbeaten run that stretched from January through May before the NLO 2 league loss to Facoms FA.

The coach Michael-tutored side was also the only team that defeated Sunshine Stars during all 42 preseason games played by the state side as they defeated the NPFL side by 2 goals to 1.

Games played in 2022: 37

Total games won: 21

Total games drawn: 9

Total games lost: 7

Gbenga Ologun
Wonderxchange B


Gbenga Ologun (Wonderxchange B)

Coach Gbenga has been in charge of 12 games for the men’s B team since creation and has won 4 of those games with 2 ending as a draw.

The highlight of his season was masterminding a comeback victory against Morning Star FA in September. This was despite trailing by 2 goals in the first half. His side made a thrilling comeback and won by 3 goals to 2.

His side also put up a wonderful display against Sunshine Stars and were only unlucky to lose by a goal to nil through a late controversial penalty call.

What is the Wonderxchange Coach of the Year award?

For this award, coaches representing Wonderxchange have been judged in regard to their performances over the whole year in all competitions including scouting competitions.

How were the players shortlisted/ How to vote

All of the coaches in the team were initially selected and shortlisted.

The three nominees for the Wonderxchange Coach of the year award were voted for by the management panel after their exemplary performances during the year 2022.

Fans will be able to vote for their favorite midfielder via the Wonderxchange FC website until 00:00 GMT on Wednesday 14 December.

Vote for your Wonderxchange Coach of the Year

Vote now:

The public vote will be combined with those of a panel of club management to decide the winner.