Timileyin Adetifa, Tope Otaki, Peter Igbehin, Micheal Adeniyi, Emmanuel Yakubu, and Joseph Ekeocha are the set of nominees revealed for the 2022 Wonderxchange Goalkeeper of the Year award.

The winner will be named – along with the Wonderxchange Defender of the Year, Wonderxchange Midfielder of the Year, Wonderxchange Forward of the Year, Wonderxchange Coach of the Year, Wonderxchange Young Player of the Year and Wonderxchange Player of the Year,- during the 2022 End of the Year award ceremony in Akure on Friday 16 December.

Wonderxchange Goalkeeper of the Year nominees
Timileyin Adetifa
Wonderxchange U13


Timileyin Adetifa (Wonderxchange U13/Goalkeeper)

The young lad plays at the U13 level of the club’s academy setup.

He’s full of confidence and has performed well in a couple of competitive matches for his side. The young man is one for the future and one to keep an eye on.

Tope Otaki
Wonderxchange B


Tope Otaki (Wonderxchange B/Goalkeeper)

The most preferred starter for the B-side and was known for his reflex saves in goal.

A confident and reliable shot-stopper when he’s having a good day in the office.

Peter Igbehin
Wonderxchage B


Peter Igbehin (Wonderxchange B/Goalkeeper)

Peter provides strong competition for Tope Otaki who has started more games than him. But Peter is known to always work hard and take his chances when they come with the highlight of his performance coming against Sunshine Stars where he bagged the man of the match award.

Michael Adeniyi
Wonderxchange FC


Micheal Adeniyi (Wonderxchange/Goalkeeper)

Yet another young prodigy who has worked his way to the men’s main team from the youth setup.

Vibrant and always ready for challenges when called upon.

Emmanuel Yakubu
Wonderxchange FC


Emmanuel Yakubu (Wonderxchange/Goalkeeper)

A deserved nomination for Emmanuel to reflect on his excellent year in goal.

He is the goalkeeper with the highest number of appearances, has kept 14 clean sheets in competitive games played this year, and is a regular starter for his side.

Joseph Ekeocha
Wonderxchange FC


Joseph Ekeocha (Wonderxchange/Goalkeeper)

He deputizes Emmanuel and provides dependable cover and strong competition. He possesses very proficient communication skills as he’s always communicating with and organizing his defense line from time to time during matches.

What is the Wonderxchange Goalkeeper of the Year award?

For this award, Goalkeepers representing Wonderxchange, have been judged regarding their performances over the whole year in all competitions including scouting competitions.

How were the players shortlisted/ How to vote

Six players were shortlisted for the Wonderxchange Goalkeeper of the year award after their excellent performances during the year 2022.

Fans will be able to vote for their favorite goalkeeper via the Wonderxchange FC website until 00:00 GMT on Wednesday 14 December.

Vote for your Wonderxchange Goalkeeper of the Year

Vote now: https://www.opinionstage.com/wonder-football/who-should-win-wonderxchange-goalkeeper-of-the-year-award

The public vote will be combined with those of a panel of club management to decide the winner.